In todays class we warmed up for a while. I try to capture the movement of the model before I start working out proportions but its hard to add much detail in only 30 seconds so I’ll have to work on speeding up my drawing.

These are some of my sketches:

img_5677img_5678img_5679img_5680img_5681img_5682img_5683

After the warmup Michael told us that we would be drawing heads so the female model sat on a chair and Michael explained to us exactly what we were going to be doing. He drew four boxes and drew a head rotation in perspective (shown below). We were then told to draw the models head from how we could see it and then draw the rotation using Michaels guide.

img_5667

These are some of my drawings of a head. I found this really difficult.. I found it really hard to grasp the concept of drawing the head inside the box. Michael helped me with my drawings (he drew over my sketches in black below).

img_5676img_5675

Michael then drew over my sketches in a light brown to help me understand the concept better. I’ll definitely have to practice this more!

img_5674

At the start of the class Michael showed us the Pinocchio model sheet and showed us how to break down the head into simple shapes and draw the head rotation. Our homework is to practice drawing the Pinocchio model sheet.

These are Michael’s drawings:img_5669

